California Choir Trip: Part 1

Last May, I went on the choir tour to California. Before I left for the trip, I was close with the group of students that were making the trip, but when I came home I was so sad to leave these people. I made some of the best friends while on the trip. I could tell so many stories from California, but I am dedicating the next few entries to telling my favorite parts of my trip. Hope you enjoy.

Part 1: Yosemite National Park

Let me just warn you, I am not athletic and have never been camping. Part of our tour was a stop in Yosemite National Park for a camping and hiking adventure.

When we arrived in Yosemite, everyone wanted to take a short hike before heading to our camping ground. I jumped out of the van eager to begin my first hike and realized that I was in skinny jeans and ballet flats. Everyone was encouraging me that the hike was going to be short, so I shouldn’t worry about my outfit. Well, the hike ended up being a lot longer than we had intended and I looked like a fool walking around in the complete opposite of hiking clothes.

We found our way to the site and were told that we had to get everything out of our luggage that had a sweet scent because of the bears in the park. I start going through my bag and noticed that I brought a lot of sweet smelling things. I was proud of myself because I ended up going through my bag quickly and pulling every sweet smelling thing.

The camping site was our next stop. I noticed what looked like tents in the distance, but as we got closer and closer I was glad to see that they were more like cabins than tents. The strangest part about the tent/cabins was this huge metal box outside of them where you were to put all of your sweet smelling items. I named this the bear box.

I changed into something more appropriate for camping and then headed to dinner.

I must also warn you that I do not do well with wild animals. They freak me out.

While at dinner, everyone at the table started giggling. I looked next to one of my friends, and there are two raccoons staring at us. I was terrified. I curled up on the picnic table bench with my legs off of the ground until the raccoons were gone.

The group at the top of the waterfall. It was so beautiful. Photo credit Nanette Kraus

I woke up the next morning excited for hiking. I can’t remember the name of the trail, but it was the most beautiful place I had ever seen. There were trees and small waterfalls all around us, but nothing could compare to the top of the trail. At the top was a big waterfall and it was my goal to see it. As we got closer, the hiking got more challenging. The water from the waterfall that had misted down made the rocks very slippery and I was afraid that I would fall. I almost turned around, but everyone told me that I could do it. I am so glad I made it to the top, because it was such breathtaking view. I was so proud of myself for doing something so outside of my comfort zone.

I think the next time that I go camping and hiking I will be much more prepared for the adventure.

One response

  1. Marlee, I loved your story about the hiking and camping! Thank you.

    February 21, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Leave a Reply

