The last first day of school is rather bittersweet.

It’s hard to believe sometimes how fast time flies. It feels like just yesterday I was trying to decide what college I wanted to attend, and here I am embarking on my last few credit hours of undergrad. When I awoke yesterday to start my day, many of my Alpha Chi sisters congratulated me on making it this far, expressed happy greetings for my last first day of school, and one even offered to take my picture. (Which of course made me think about my first, ‘first day of school’ picture. I remember my Mom standing me outside our house in Colorado, dressed in what I thought was the most hideous dress known to Kindergarteners, and making a big cheesy grin for the camera.) What was really special about that day, was that I was about to start something new, to do something different, and that was exciting.

I am so excited that it’s my last semester of school, but at the same time, it’s bittersweet because it means I’ll soon be coming to an end of what I’ve grown to love over the last 4 years, and leaving the friends I’ve made that have become so dear. (Luckily, however, a few of those friends finally got me to join choir. Nothing like being spontaneous at the last moment!) I look forward to the next 114-day journey to the stage as it takes me through HONK! musical rehearsals, an oral history report from my Grandma and her childhood in the Great Depression, traveling to Alabama with Ira Despain and other Baker Students to work with Habitat for Humanity during Spring Break, and completing my senior capstone in theatre.

Leave a Reply

