Remember Me?

Hey there BakerU Blogger followers! Long time, no talk. Has it really been 5 months since graduation?! After having been down in Baldwin City the past two weekends, I must say that I do miss certain aspects quite a bit, especially the view from the Liston Stadium bleachers at a Baker University athletics event on a beautiful fall evening.

 

Awaiting the Baker Women's Soccer game on Saturday evening.

Allow me to update you on the goings-on in my life since graduation. On June 1, I began working at a company called Uhlig LLC in Lenexa, KS. I’m the Assistant Product Manager of one of the divisions in the company. I’ve got to admit, the “real world” is a bit different than life as a college student. What makes it different? Here, let me explain with a few examples:

ALARM CLOCKS – I really didn’t have much of a use for one of these in college. In the real world, it’s one of the most important, and annoying, devices you own. It seems that my daily use of an alarm clock has also had a negative impact on my ability to “sleep in” on the weekends. I don’t think I’ve slept in past 8am on a weekend for months!

CASH FLOW – Now, I’m more than grateful for the minimum-wage work-study job I had while at Baker, but it pales in comparison to a salary with comprehensive benefits. In college, I pretty much only ever saw my bank account balance decline as the semester went on. It’s a much nicer feeling knowing that I’ll get a nice paycheck on the 5th and 20th of every month.

SIESTAS – Probably one of the aspects of college life I miss the most is naptime. Each semester, I strategically created a schedule that included specific time periods devoted to naptime. Taking a 2-hour nap in the afternoon because I have some extra free time isn’t an option nowadays like it was back in college… bummer.

PROCRASTINATION – A syllabus does not exist in corporate America as it did in college. Bosses don’t give out 3-4 month schedules of events with specific “hard” or “soft” deadlines. In the real world, projects and assignments come up on a much more “ad-hoc” basis and normally have much quicker, unforgiving deadlines. Bottom line, procrastination won’t get you anywhere in the real world.

Now, I could probably go on to list quite a few other glaring differences between life in college and life in the real world. BUT, I think you all get the picture.

Expect to hear from me a little more often in the coming months because, frankly, I miss this whole blogging thing.  And who knows, maybe an alumni perspective on the usefulness of a Baker education will be beneficial to someone out there in the BakerU Blogosphere.

All right, that’s all for now!

5 responses

  1. Jeff, great to hear from you, and your description of the real world rings true. I’ve usually been able to snag 20-minute naps during the work day, so maybe if you lower your expectations on length, you can do it!

    October 25, 2010 at 8:41 am

  2. Jeff, great to see you back! Alarm clocks and siestas – yes, the two most difficult aspects of the real world – not enough sleep. Great post and I look forward to more dispatches from the great wide world.

    joanne

    October 25, 2010 at 11:34 am

  3. Jeff!
    It was great seeing you the other day, glad you are doing well. This post scares me a little, for the simple fact that this “real world” description will soon become my reality. Yikes!

    October 27, 2010 at 11:48 pm

  4. Janelle Gann-Austin

    Hi Jeff – I’m a Baker alum researching Uhlig. I’ve applied for a proofreading job and waiting to hear back for an appointment to come in and take the employment tests. Since its a private company I haven’t been able to find much information about their products beyond what is on the website. Mostly I’m looking for information about the forms of publication. Do they also do books? Hardcover, softcover, etc. If you have time, any additional information you can provide would be greatly appreciated! Thanks, Janelle

    November 3, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

