The Baker Wildcat?

So a couple weeks ago, as I was so diligently grinding away at my homework around 11 p.m. at night, I’m sitting in my living room as I hear a strange meowing sound coming from outside. Naturally, I don’t pay it any attention because weird noises always come from the apartment complexes (take that as you please). But as it grew clearer and closer, I can tell this “thing” was close by. So I open the door and to my surprise, a kitten! Clear as day, ready to waltz into my apartment as I open the door. Now if you asked anyone that knew me, I am deathly afraid of any type of non-human creature – yes, including ants… don’t judge me.

Anywho, for some reason, any prior fear I had for animals before, was suddenly forgotten and I felt a strong compassion for the little feller. And if it could talk, I’m sure it would’ve told me it was thirsty. So I gave him a plate of milk. The harmless little thing sat there licking away for minutes before I called some friends and neighbors over who had much more expertise in dealing with cats than I. Come to find out, this cat had been around for years, without an owner, wandering from house to house, with names from Wallace to Samson. I think both are hideous, but beggers can’t be choosers – neither can homeless cats. I guess. Anywho, if you happen to see this little guy roaming the streets of Baker, tell him I said hi and that I miss him. *sniff sniff*

Leave a Reply

