–>NO P.O.W. <–

*sighs* Lately there has been so many things happening in my life, especially with my friends and even associates.  If you know me (or not) *shrugs*I’ll inform you that I am a very straightforword, OUTSPOKEN, and opinionated individual.

I say what I mean and mean what I say. I refuse to sugar coat. And although I may twist the truth at times, I always know the truth in my heart.

*leans forward* What is strange is that my personality is becoming known and defined as rude, insensitive, and mean; *sits back comfortably*when in essence the fact is I’m only being myself.

But nowadays, people don’t want to hear the HONEST TO GOD TRUTH! They want people to lie to them, or rather make it sound nicer to their ears. They want people to accept their wrong, or rather see things in a different perspective. But like I said before and I’ll say again, I’m a firm believer in Jesus and I’m going to give people the truth regardless of their feelings. *pauses* Sorry.

I spent my middle school and high school years holding my tongue for many reasons. *shrugs* I wanted friends, I wanted a boyfriend, I wanted people to like me, etc. However, the truth is all that time I bottled up my feelings and emotions, I hurt myself. *lowers head & tenses body*

*looks up boldly* I WILL NEVER DO THAT AGAIN!!

And to prove it, I am posting one of the most influential and inspirational poems I have ever read or performed in my life *smiles* So here I present to you all:

P.O.W. by Alicia Keys

I’m a prisoner/ Of words unsaid/Just lonely feelings/Locked away in my head/I trap myself further/Every time I stay quiet/I should start to speak/But I stop and stay silent/And now I’ve made/My own hard bed/Inside a prison of words unsaid/I am a P.O.W./ Not a prisoner of war/ A prisoner of words /Like a soldier/I’m a fighter/Yet only a puppet/Mostly I only say/What you wanna hear/Could you take it if I came clear?/Or would you rather see me/Stoned on a drug of complacency and compromise/ M.I.A./ I guess that’s what I am/ Scraping this cold earth/For a piece of myself/For peace in myself

It’d be easier if you put me in jail/ If you locked me away /I’d have someone to blame /But these bars of steel are of my making /They surround my mind /And have me shaking /My hands are cuffed behind my back /I’m a prisoner of the worst kind, in fact /A prisoner of compromise / A prisoner of compassion / A prisoner of kindness / A prisoner of expectation /A prisoner of my youth /Run too fast to be old / I’ve forgotten what I was told /Ain’t I a sight to behold? /A prisoner of age dying to be young/ To my head is my hand with a gun /And it’s cold and it’s hard /Cause there’s nowhere to run/ When you’ve caged yourself/By holding your tongue

I’m a prisoner /Of words unsaid/ Just lonely feelings/ Locked away in my head/ It’s like solitary confinement/Every time I stay quiet/I should start to speak /But I stop and stay silent/ And now I’ve made / My own hard bed /Inside a prison of words unsaid

13 responses

  1. Kaci

    …you never held your tounge to me lol. i got mostly everything you wanted to say!. and i remember when you did this poem for 4N6. lol i wanted to be a wonderful 4N6cator just like you =)

    October 6, 2010 at 1:25 pm

  2. tina saulsbury

    Great keep it coming Girl, luv ya!!!!!

    October 6, 2010 at 1:41 pm

  3. Mrs. Shackelford

    YES, baby in these days and time we all need the truth, and as long as you pray about it and go in LOVE that is BIBLE. Stay close to the word, it is making you stronger and he will make you bold in your speaking his word. Remember sometimes we are not ready for the TRUTH. Praise God for all you do!!!!!! Love you!

    October 6, 2010 at 2:45 pm

  4. previn

    the truth should come out, i agree with you fully boo. Just make sure you do it a way that it doesnt come out too real, cuzz not all ppl can take raw data like that. I’m proud of you for doing yo thing and speakin yo mind. Much love

    October 6, 2010 at 2:52 pm

  5. Takoya

    I agree with this 100%…Im not sure why most can’t handle the truth but you know me thats who i am its in my blood girl!TK the realist lol!

    October 6, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    • kshack2013

      If you don’t stop referring to yourself as TK the realist lol!!! I’m gonna be sooo done with you lol

      October 6, 2010 at 3:17 pm

  6. Cherese

    I Just Looked It Up On Youtube.. This Almost Brought Me To Tears ! A M A Z I N G ! This Poem Is Excellent && I Love How It Describes Feelings In Such A Powerful Way. Good Job Roomie !

    October 6, 2010 at 3:25 pm

  7. T.Super

    this is very true, known u since Northwest and u was very well kept…but I am proud of the person u have become…never baby someone else feelings whn they won’t do the same 4 u…make urself happy nd those who really care about u will do the same🙂

    October 6, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    • kshack2013

      OOOO speak on that NOT baby-ing other peoples feelings!!!!!!

      October 6, 2010 at 10:08 pm

  8. F. Braddy

    That’s a good philosophy to live by. But always remember it’s not necessarily “what” you say it’s “how” you say it. So keep that in mind when you are speaking the truth and being brutally honest with someone

    October 7, 2010 at 7:47 am

    • kshack2013

      Thanks Aunty I’ll keep that in mind, however I have been in school too long and it doesn’t matter if you say it brutally honest or whisper it, people DO NOT like to hear the truth; especially if it has anything to do with the Lord.

      October 7, 2010 at 6:03 pm

  9. Felicia W

    Good Job

    October 8, 2010 at 6:48 am

  10. Mrs. Shackelford

    Thank-you sis, I know she is not living by philosophy. Everything she is doing is unto the Lord, and living a GODLY life, it do not matter in these days and times that the devil is going to come in and say ( I dare she talk to me like that) so I say again pray about it and go in LOVE.

    October 8, 2010 at 7:53 am

Leave a Reply

