Summer Learning Experiences

I have been horribly remiss about blogging this last little bit because I have been working at a camp and literally fallen asleep sooner than I remember going to bed every night. I feel like I learn so much more in “the real world” that I ever would in a classroom!

I have been working with K-5th graders at a camp called Camp Invention in Topeka, and it has been a really great experience. I am also taking an online class though yet another school, so it’s been crazy and busy, and I was a little concerned that joining the camp staff at the last minute would be a bad choice timing-wise, but it was probably the best choice I could have made. My goal is to work with kids in a school setting, and there is just no way to learn that in a classroom. Sure, Baker’s Ed department does a great job of introducing theory and suggesting hypothetical situations, but hypothetical situations can’t hold a candle to real situations!

I am lucky to have had so many teaching (and learning!) opportunities completely unrelated to college, and it is awesome to be able to apply what I’ve learned in the classroom as a student to my classroom as a teacher.

There are the classroom management moments and the pedagogy strategy moments, but even beyond those there are things like getting up early to go to work and being responsible for eighteen ten-year-olds and interacting with others (and teaching my students that teamwork thing, too!) that are so relevant to my whole life as an adult, not just as a teacher.

I just wanted to say that even if you’re waiting tables, mowing lawns, making phone calls, or whatever your summer jobs may be, there is probably something to be learned from them. Don’t just blow off your work time as a way to earn money, and don’t ignore volunteering because it won’t pay for college – just about anything you do can have a life lesson attached, and you might be amazed at how much you’ve learned over the summer when you return to school in the fall.

(Right, and make sure you take out some time to relax, too – this is your vacation!)

Leave a Reply

