Reading for leisure

No, that’s not a spelling error or a typo you see. I’m really giving leisurely reading a shot. Normally, the only time I’d pick up a book is when I’m forced to for a class and even then I only browse through it. Reading has always had a negative connotation in my mind, because it’s usually associated with double-digit numbers of pages that have to be read by tomorrow. Then after a while, the reading becomes a race to get the assignment done, rather than a pleasant activity.

At any rate, I’m going to give it a shot, and thought these would be two good books to start out with. I have some friends that can get through multiple books in a week. More power to them, but I’m not that ambitious (not when it comes to reading at least), nor do I feel like this is a competition, so I will take my time to get through these and maybe in a month’s time I’ll be back on the shelves seeking something more challenging per se.

P.S. For any fellow facebook addicts out there, this is a great alternative! Every hour mindlessly spent creeping on facebook is 10-15 pages of knowledge and cognitive stimulation. Now doesn’t that sound so much more appealing?
😉

4 responses

  1. Jeff Skillman

    Good idea — if you want another book like the one’s you’ve chosen already, the one I’m about to start reading is How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie… I hear from people who have read it that it’s one of the foremost books on… well, good successful skills there is. Check it out.

    June 9, 2010 at 11:11 pm

  2. Gloria U. Atanmo

    Sweet! Sounds legit, I’ll be sure to follow-up with you on that so I can get your first-hand opinion of it. But nevertheless, it’s been added to my reading list.

    June 10, 2010 at 1:38 am

  3. Good reading for leisure. If your life is in a period of change, try my book Harps In The Willows, Strengths for Reinventing Life (Chalice Press) available from Amazon and others.

    If you’re visiting national parks this summer, you will enjoy mysteries set in the parks written by Nevada Barr. Also for history buffs try South Wind written by Baker graduate Don Coldsmith. It’s set in the Kansas Territory.He is a great writer and has written many historical novels. My historical novel set in Texas The Reluctant Immigrant would be good reading for your kids and grandkids.

    Naomi Mitchum

    June 19, 2010 at 11:55 am

    • Gloria U. Atanmo

      Awesome! Thanks for the recommendations🙂

      June 19, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

