Returning from a semester abroad

Enjoying the last week at Harlaxton, dancing on the front lawn

I have now been back at home or about a week and a half, after a semester of studying at Harlaxton in England, and I have to admit it does seem rather strange in some ways.

What really seems strange is how normal everything is. People kept saying “oh, you’ll have changed so much” and “home won’t be the same,” but really it’s uncanny how completely average everything feels. It’s almost as if the last four months never happened, that they were all just a very long and involved dream. A very enlightening and wonderful dream, but ephemeral, nonetheless.

Other study abroad students in different programs are still off on their adventures, which is one little thing that’s kind of strange. And my little brother is graduating from high school – but that would be strange no matter what! I went down to Baker for a brief visit to drop off some information and it’s weird that a lot of my friends are already gone, off to student teaching, graduated at semester, or are just holed up studying for finals. But everything else back at home seems to be just… in stasis.

And believe me, I love being home. I have my own bed, I can eat what I want when I want, and my family is here. But I also miss my Harlaxton friends so much. They’re on facebook, so I know what they’re up to, but I don’t really know. They’re all doing things completely unrelated to me or even to Harlaxton, back to their lives of which I am not quite a part. And yet photos from the semester are still being posted, and little inside jokes are still getting passed around on walls and such. I wonder how it’ll feel when even that stops. Even my friends back here at home are still finishing up school and stuff, and looking forward to fall I’ll see even less of them that before.

It’s all a little weird. But then, life’s a little weird. And more than a little wonderful. I can’t imagine what my life would be like without this experience, and I’ll be spending my blogging time this summer revisiting some of the wonders of study abroad programs. But right now, I’m just enjoying being home.

One response

  1. Annette Pierce

    Nice jete! Can’t wait to hear more about your semester at Harlaxton!

    May 17, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Leave a Reply

