My journey in developing…

Life-long friends. Everybody talks about having them. But no one really knows where they come from. And there’s no absolute way to tell whether someone qualifies as one right off the bat. As the age-old saying goes “There are friends for a reason, and friends for a season.” But you don’t go around putting phantom seasonal stamps on your friends (at least I hope not) you just kind of know whether you need to let them go or not.

Baker has such a diverse make-up of students with reasons for them being on this campus varying from proximity to chance; but we’re all here for a reason unique to the next. And that mix of reasons brings all kinds of backgrounds and cultures to Baker that I’ve come to love and respect. My eyes have also been opened to different languages, from Yoshitaka Naka’s Japanese to Odaine Sinclaire’s Jamaican dialect, and it’s been amazing to say the least. Some of the dynamic people I’ve met and the strong bonds I’ve made can’t even begin to compare to any elementary or high school friendships. Here at Baker, people have praised me at my best, and encouraged me at my worst, and that is why I love this place.

I’m a very sickness-prone creature, in which medications can be to no avail, and even so, I’ll have that friend that goes out of their way to buy me some Vitamin-C rich orange juice (Malcolm Greer) or let me borrow their car to pick up my antibiotics (Ashlee Miller) or even just send daily text messages to ask about my well-being and make sure I’m still alive (Matt Griffin). Small deeds like that go a long way and are remembered and appreciated.

As we’re all anticipating summer’s arrival, it won’t take more than 2 weeks into the summer before I start missing my Baker friends, and start remembering the Mondays, Wednesays, and Fridays at 12:30 right after lunch, when I’d pass them by the Harter union or wave across campus and hope it doesn’t go unseen by its intended receiver (don’t you hate that?)

Anywho, all this rambling is basically to say that I will miss my Baker people over the summer and I truly cherish the connections I’ve made during my time here so far. A lot of people take for granted all the amazing people that cross their paths on a day-to-day basis, but I’m so fortunate to be surrounded by great mentors, role models, comical personalities, and flamboyancy.

2 responses

  1. Gotta love your blogs, Glo!

    May 14, 2010 at 8:24 pm

  2. Gabby

    Wait.. ok yeah this is your sophomore year. I didn’t make it *personally into the post. But as a future *alum, I will say I feel the same way. I love ya Glo. I’m always here for ya… and all your spaghetti/sore tooth needs.😉❤

    May 15, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Leave a Reply

