Where’s Jeff Been???

When looking through the most recent posts, you’ll most likely realize that there are no posts from yours truly…

The title page of our 86-page senior project... SOOO HAPPY to be done with it!

Well, I’d like to take this time to give you all an update on my whereabouts over the last two weeks.  I was  held hostage against my will in Room 107 of the Collins Library by Baker’s business capstone course “Business Policy.”  All right, so maybe that’s a little bit of an exaggeration…but the fact remains that that’s where I basically spent the last 2 weeks of my life.  My group mates and I completed a case study project that essentially serves as the culmination of 4 years of business coursework here at Baker.  So, for those 2 weeks of intense labor, we transformed Room 107 in Collins Library into a kitchen, a living room, and of course, a bedroom.  Pretty much everything else in my group mates’ lives took a backseat to getting this senior capstone project done… it certainly was not how we would have liked to have spent the past 2 weeks, but if you wanna graduate, you gotta do what you gotta do to get that degree.

This project undoubtedly pushed my group and I to limits we didn’t necessarily want to reach…. no one should have to walk out of the library only to see others walking in to start their day — what a terrible feeling.  But the sense of accomplishment that we felt sitting at Hickory Creek bar enjoying relaxation for the first time in 2 weeks was priceless.  As we sat, looking back at the non-stop exposure we’d had with each other, I started to realize that there were some memories made, some friendships strengthened that I will remember for the rest of my life.  It may sound corny, but it’s true… and then that got me thinking a little more about my college experience, as a whole, here at Baker.  In the coming blogposts, I will talk about my favorite memories/experiences that have otherwise defined my time in college.

Lionel Messi straight ballin' all over a helpless keeper... BRILLIANT!

Until then, I’m going to go play some FIFA10 to get my mind right for the World Cup this summer… USA v. England on June 12th!

¡Salud!

3 responses

  1. dad

    Congrats my favorite son. You know it was worth the journey which will open many more in the near future which is shining very bright for you!!!

    May 3, 2010 at 6:34 pm

  2. Okay, I forgive you for not writing on the blog for the last 2 weeks. It was well worth waiting for your funny and sincere look at what the last 4 years have meant to you plus the inside look at what it takes to get a project done in room 107 – not sure I can ever look at that room in the same way… Thanks!

    May 3, 2010 at 9:31 pm

  3. Gloria U. Atanmo

    “…no one should have to walk out of the library only to see others walking in to start their day — what a terrible feeling.” Lol, I loved that quote! I practically live it; I like to call it the “Walk of Shame from Collins”.

    Anywho, I can attest for your hard work and time-consuming project as I have interrupted many of the group’s work sessions in the room you all temporarily closed off, with my corny one-liners and study breaks. Results are ALWAYS a beautiful thing in hindsight though. Good job Skillet!

    May 4, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Leave a Reply

